Skip to main content

Update browser for a secure TSO experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full TSO experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Julian Rachlin with his violin

Fire & Ice: Shostakovich & Sibelius

Sat, Nov 16–Sun, Nov 17, 2024 Roy Thomson Hall

Ana Sokolović masterfully weaves together intricate rhythms, lush harmonies, and striking contrasts in her Concerto for Orchestra, followed by Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto, with its haunting and expressive melodies embodying the fiery resilience of the human spirit, and Sibelius’s First Symphony, evoking scenes of snowy Finnish landscapes and the quiet strength of winter.


Ana Sokolović

Concerto for Orchestra


Violin Concerto No. 1


Symphony No. 1

Buy Tickets

If you have already subscribed to the 2024/25 season, please visit TSO.CA/Login to log into your account to add tickets for this performance. To learn more about subscriptions and how to become a subscriber, visit TSO.CA/Subscribe. Join our TSO Email Club to receive special offers, access to ticket pre-sales, and exclusive behind-the-scenes content.


Gustavo Gimeno


Julian Rachlin

This Program is Part of:

Saturday 2



{{concert.Suffix}} {{concert.Date}}
  • {{person.Name}}, {{person.Role}}
  • {{program.Title}}:

Sunday Matinee



{{concert.Suffix}} {{concert.Date}}
  • {{person.Name}}, {{person.Role}}
  • {{program.Title}}: