Skip to main content

Update browser for a secure TSO experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full TSO experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown

Truth in Our Time with NACO

Wednesday, March 30, 2022 Roy Thomson Hall

Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra and Music Director Alexander Shelley return to Toronto to explore the theme of “Truth in our Times” with the World Première of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13, his ode to freedom of the press, commissioned by the Orchestra as a tribute to Canadian-born journalist Peter Jennings. Works by Korngold and Shostakovich offer defiant statements on authoritarian regimes. The concert begins with a contemporary Canadian work by Nicole Lizée, Zeiss After Dark, co-commissioned by Toronto Symphony and NAC Orchestras in celebration of the 150th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada with financial assistance from the Government of Canada.

Read the program notes for Truth in Our Time with NACO


Nicole Lizée

Zeiss After Dark

(TSO/NACO Co-commission)



Symphony No. 9




Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35


Philip Glass

Symphony No. 13

(World Première/NACO Commission)



Alexander Shelley


Blake Pouliot


National Arts Centre Orchestra

guest orchestra