2020/21 Season

Monumental Mahler & Mozart

Wed, September 23, 2020 at 8:00pm
Thu, September 24, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sat, September 26, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sun, September 27, 2020 at 3:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Emily D’Angelo, mezzo-soprano

Samy Moussa: Crimson for Large Orchestra
Mozart: Selections from La clemenza di Tito, K. 621
Overture
“Parto, parto, ma tu ben mio”
(Joaquin Valdepeñas, clarinet)
“Deh, per questo istante solo”
Mahler: Symphony No. 1 

And the Oscar Goes To…

Tue, September 29, 2020 at 8:00pm 
Wed, September 30, 2020 at 2:00pm 
Wed, September 30, 2020 at 8:00pm 

Steven Reineke, conductor

Musical Passport

Sun, October 4, 2020 at 2:00pm (Relaxed Performance)

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, conductor

Holst The Planets

Wed, October 7, 2020 at 8:00pm
Thu, October 8, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sat, October 10, 2020 at 8:00pm

Peter Oundjian, conductor
Timothy Chooi, violin
Toronto Children’s Chorus     

Larysa Kuzmenko: Behold the Night for Children’s Chorus and Orchestra (TSO Commission)
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto
Holst: The Planets 
 
Gimeno Conducts Beethoven

Fri, October 16, 2020 at 7:30pm
Sat, October 17, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sun, October 18, 2020 at 3:00pm (George Weston Recital Hall, Meridian Arts Centre)

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Karina Gauvin, soprano

Beethoven: Incidental Music to Egmont
Unsuk Chin: New Work (North American Première)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 2 

Phantoms of the Orchestra

Sun, October 25, 2020 at 2:00pm 
Sun, October 25, 2020 at 4:00pm

Simon Rivard, conductor 
Magic Circle Mime Company

Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas—In Concert

Sat, October 31, 2020 at 2:00pm
Sat, October 31, 2020 at 7:30pm

Sarah Hicks, conductor

Presentation licensed by Disney Concerts. © All rights reserved.

Víkingur Ólafsson Plays Mozart

Wed, November 4, 2020 at 8:00pm
Thu, November 5, 2020 at 8:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Víkingur Ólafsson, piano     

Barbara Croall: Innerohn (Innerear) (TSO Co-commission)
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23, K. 488
Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 “Romantic”

Dvořák’s New World

Thu, November 12, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sat, November 14, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sun, November 15, 2020 at 3:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Yefim Bronfman, piano     

New Works* by NextGen Composers:
Adam Scime
Bekah Simms
Roydon Tse
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3
Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 “From the New World” 

*World Premières/TSO Commissions

Mandolin + Mozart’s Jupiter

Wed, November 18, 2020 at 8:00pm
Thu, November 19, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sat, November 21, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sun, November 22, 2020 at 3:00pm (George Weston Recital Hall, Meridian Arts Centre)

Simon Rivard, conductor
Avi Avital, mandolin     

Martines: Overture (“Sinfonia”)
Vivaldi: Concerto No. 6 from L’estro armonico 
Hummel: Mandolin Concerto
Mozart: Symphony No. 41, K. 551 “Jupiter” 

Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony

Sat, November 21, 2020 at 11:00am

Simon Rivard, conductor
Avi Avital, mandolin

Martines: Overture (“Sinfonia”)
Vivaldi: Concerto No. 6 from L’estro armonico
Mozart: Symphony No. 41, K. 551 “Jupiter”  

All Tchaikovsky

Wed, November 25, 2020 at 8:00pm
Fri, November 27, 2020 at 7:30pm
Sat, November 28, 2020 at 8:00pm

Dalia Stasevska, conductor
Tony Siqi Yun, piano     

Tchaikovsky: Cossack Dance from Mazeppa
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 “Pathétique” 

Home Alone in Concert

Fri, December 4, 2020 at 7:30pm
Sat, December 5, 2020 at 2:00pm
Sat, December 5, 2020 at 7:30pm
    
Scott Terrell, conductor
Resonance Youth Choir 
 
© 1990 Twentieth Century Fox

TSO Holiday Pops

Tue, December 8, 2020 at 8:00pm 
Wed, December 9, 2020 at 2:00pm 
Wed, December 9, 2020 at 8:00pm

Steven Reineke, conductor
Ryan Silverman, vocalist 
Etobicoke School of the Arts Holiday Chorus 

Messiah

Tue, December 15, 2020 at 8:00pm
Wed, December 16, 2020 at 8:00pm
Fri, December 18, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sat, December 19, 2020 at 8:00pm
Sun, December 20, 2020 at 3:00pm

Michael Francis, conductor
Lauren Snouffer, soprano
Rihab Chaieb, mezzo-soprano
Michael Colvin, tenor
Stephen Hegedus, bass-baritone
Toronto Mendelssohn Choir     

Handel: Messiah 

New Year’s in Spain

Wed, January 6, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sat, January 9, 2021 at 8:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Juan Manuel Cañizares, guitar     

J. Strauss II: Spanish March
Falla: Selections from El amor brujo
Ravel: Rapsodie espagnole
Francisco Coll: Aqua Cinerea (North American Première)
Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez
Falla: Suite from The Three-Cornered Hat 

Stravinsky’s Pulcinella

Thu, January 14, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sat, January 16, 2021 at 8:00pm

Barbara Hannigan, conductor
Julia Dawson, mezzo-soprano
Charles Sy, tenor
Douglas Williams, bass-baritone

Copland: Music for the Theatre
Haydn: Symphony No. 90
Stravinsky: Pulcinella 

Radiant Rachmaninoff

Wed, January 20, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sat, January 23, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sun, January 24, 2021 at 3:00pm (George Weston Recital Hall, Meridian Arts Centre)

John Storgårds, conductor
Karen Gomyo, violin     

Emilie LeBel: New Work (World Première/TSO Commission)
Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3
Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 3 

Elgar’s Enigma

Fri, January 29, 2021 at 7:30pm
Sat, January 30, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sun, January 31, 2021 at 3:00pm

Sir Andrew Davis, conductor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello     

Jennifer Higdon: Loco (Canadian Première)
Dvořák: Cello Concerto
Elgar: Variations on an Original Theme “Enigma” 

In the Groove

Sun, February 7, 2021 at 2:00pm
Sun, February 7, 2021 at 4:00pm

Simon Rivard, conductor
PROJECT Trio
Peter Seymour, double bass 
Greg Pattillo, flute 
Eric Stephenson, cello 
 
Romeo & Juliet

Wed, February 10, 2021 at 8:00pm
Thu, February 11, 2021 at 8:00pm

Xian Zhang, conductor
Gabriela Montero, piano     

Bellini: Overture to The Capulets and the Montagues
C. Schumann: Piano Concerto
Gabriela Montero: Improvisations on audience themes
Prokofiev: Suite from Romeo and Juliet 

Saint-Saëns & Brahms with OSM

Wed, February 17, 2021 at 8:00pm

Kent Nagano, conductor
Denis Matsuev, piano 
Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, guest orchestra    

Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 3 “Organ Symphony”
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 

Beethoven 6 + Bartók

Fri, February 19, 2021 at 7:30pm
Sat, February 20, 2021 at 8:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Javier Perianes, piano     

Ligeti: Atmosphères for Orchestra
Wagner: Prelude to Act I of Lohengrin
Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 3
Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 “Pastoral” 

Rigoletto Opera in Concert

Thu, February 25, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sun, February 28, 2021 at 3:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Quinn Kelsey, baritone (Rigoletto)
Sofia Fomina, soprano (Gilda)
Saimir Pirgu, tenor (Duke of Mantua)
Rinat Shaham, mezzo-soprano (Maddalena/Giovanna)
Alain Coulombe, bass (Sparafucile)
Joel Allison, bass-baritone (Count Monterone) 
Matthew Dalen, tenor (Matteo Borsa)
Geoffrey Sirett, baritone (Marullo)
Vartan Gabrielian, bass-baritone (Count Ceprano)
Rebecca Cuddy, mezzo-soprano (Countess Ceprano/Page)
Men of the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir
Joel Ivany, stage director   

Verdi: Rigoletto (opera-in-concert in Italian with English surtitles)

Schumann & Steve Reich

Wed, March 3, 2021 at 8:00pm
Thu, March 4, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sat, March 6, 2021 at 8:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor

J.S. Bach: Prelude to Suite No. 1 for Unaccompanied Cello, BWV 1007 
(Joseph Johnson, cello) 
C.P.E. Bach: Sinfonia No. 3, Wq. 183/3 
Steve Reich: Music for Ensemble and Orchestra (Canadian Première) 
R. Schumann: Symphony No. 2 

Young People’s Guide to the TSO

Sun, March 7, 2021 at 2:00pm 
Sun, March 7, 2021 at 4:00pm
Sun, March 14, 2021 at 11:00am (Relaxed Performance)

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, conductor     

Totally ’80s

Tue, March 9, 2021 at 8:00pm
Wed, March 10, 2021 at 2:00pm
Wed, March 10, 2021 at 8:00pm

Stuart Chafetz, conductor
Nicole Parker, vocalist 
Aaron Finley, vocalist 

Bach’s Brandenburg & More

Wed, March 24, 2021 at 8:00pm
Fri, March 26, 2021 at 7:30pm
Sat, March 27, 2021 at 8:00pm

Jonathan Crow, leader & violin
Kelly Zimba, flute
Leonie Wall, flute
Sarah Jeffrey, oboe
Andrew McCandless, trumpet
Zeyu Victor Li, violin     

J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4, BWV 1049
J.S. Bach: Concerto for Oboe, BWV 1059R
J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2, BWV 1047 
J.S. Bach: Concerto for Two Violins and String Orchestra, BWV 1043
J.S. Bach: Concerto for Three Violins and String Orchestra, BWV 1064R

Mahler 4 + Messiaen

Thu, April 1, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sat, April 3, 2021 at 8:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Siobhan Stagg, soprano     

Messiaen: L’Ascension
Mahler: Symphony No. 4 

Gimeno + The Rite of Spring

Wed, April 7, 2021 at 8:00pm
Thu, April 8, 2021 at 8:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
James Ehnes, violin     

N. Boulanger: Allegro (North American Première)
Stravinsky: Violin Concerto
L. Boulanger: D’un matin de printemps
Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring (original version)

Late-Night Rite

Sat, April 10, 2021 at 10:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor     

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring (original version)

Peer Gynt & Brahms 1

Fri, April 16, 2021 at 7:30pm
Sat, April 17, 2021 at 8:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Kelly Zimba, flute
Stefan Dohr, horn
Toronto Symphony Youth Orchestra     

Berio: Sequenza No. 1 for Solo Flute
Grieg: Suite No. 1 from Peer Gynt*
Hans Abrahamsen: Horn Concerto (Canadian Première)
Brahms: Symphony No. 1 

*Toronto Symphony Youth Orchestra performs side by side with the TSO.  

Spoonful of Broadway

Tue, April 20, 2021 at 8:00pm
Wed, April 21, 2021 at 2:00pm
Wed, April 21, 2021 at 8:00pm

Steven Reineke, conductor
Ashley Brown, vocalist

Moussa Conducts Moussa & Dvořák

Sat, April 24, 2021 at 8:00pm

Samy Moussa, conductor
Kerson Leong, violin     

Wagner: Prelude to Act I of Tristan und Isolde
Samy Moussa: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra “Adrano”
Dvořák: Romance for Violin and Orchestra
Dvořák: Symphony No. 7 

NACO & Shostakovich 9

Fri, April 30, 2021 at 8:00pm

Alexander Shelley, conductor
National Arts Centre Orchestra, guest orchestra  
 
Nicole Lizée: Zeiss After Dark (TSO Co-commission)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9
Philip Glass: New Work (NACO Commission)

Emily Saves the Orchestra

Sun, May 2, 2021 at 2:00pm
Sun, May 2, 2021 at 4:00pm

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, conductor
Platypus Theatre     

Lisiecki Plays Chopin

Wed, May 5, 2021 at 8:00pm
Thu, May 6, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sat, May 8, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sun, May 9, 2021 at 3:00pm (George Weston Recital Hall, Meridian Arts Centre)

Kerem Hasan, conductor
Jan Lisiecki, piano     

Britten: Four Sea Interludes
Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 2
Mozart: Symphony No. 35, K. 385 “Haffner”
Britten: Sinfonia da Requiem (May 5, 6 & 8 only)

Star Wars: The Last Jedi—In Concert 
 
Thu, May 13, 2021 at 7:30pm
Fri, May 14, 2021 at 7:30pm
Sat, May 15, 2021 at 12:00pm
Sat, May 15, 2021 at 7:30pm

Steven Reineke, conductor

© 2020 & TM LUCASFILM LTD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © DISNEY.
Presentation licensed by Disney Concerts in association with 20th Century Fox, Lucasfilm Ltd. and Warner/Chappell Music.

Swingin’ at the Club

Tue, May 18, 2021 at 8:00pm
Wed, May 19, 2021 at 2:00pm
Wed, May 19, 2021 at 8:00pm

Jeff Tyzik, conductor
Byron Stripling, trumpet & vocalist
Carmen Bradford, vocalist
Leo Manzari, tap dancer
Bob Breithaupt, drum set     

Trifonov & Tchaikovsky 4

Fri, May 28, 2021 at 7:30pm
Sat, May 29, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sun, May 30, 2021 at 3:00pm

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Daniil Trifonov, piano     

Samy Moussa: Symphony No. 2 (World Première/TSO Commission)
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 

Yo-Yo Ma Plays Elgar with Gustavo Gimeno

Thu, June 3, 2021 at 7:30pm 

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor
Yo-Yo Ma, cello

Program includes:
Elgar: Cello Concerto

Additional works and location of concert to be announced.

Oundjian & Shostakovich 5

Wed, June 9, 2021 at 8:00pm
Thu, June 10, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sat, June 12, 2021 at 8:00pm

Peter Oundjian, conductor
Jonathan Crow, violin
Victor Fournelle-Blain, viola     

Samy Moussa: Nocturne for Orchestra
Mozart: Sinfonia concertante for Violin and Viola, K. 364/320d
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 

Sir Andrew + Symphonie Fantastique

Thu, June 17, 2021 at 8:00pm
Sat, June 19, 2021 at 8:00pm

Sir Andrew Davis, conductor
Nicola Benedetti, violin     

Wynton Marsalis: Violin Concerto (Canadian Première)
Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique 

The Music of ABBA

Tue, June 29, 2021 at 8:00pm 
Wed, June 30, 2021 at 2:00pm 
Wed, June 30, 2021 at 8:00pm 

Lucas Waldin, conductor
Rajaton, vocal ensemble     

The TSO Chamber Soloists

Gimeno Conducts Beethoven
Fri, October 16, 2020 at 6:15pm
Doors open at 5:45pm
No seating after 6:15pm

Schubert: The Shepherd on the Rock
Beethoven: Scottish Folk Songs

With special guest Karina Gauvin, soprano

Víkingur Ólafsson Plays Mozart
Wed, November 4, 2020 at 6:45pm
Doors open at 6:15pm
No seating after 6:45pm

Mozart: Flute Quartet No. 3, K. 285b
Barbara Croall: Lullaby for Pipigwan and String Quartet

With special guest Barbara Croall, pipigwan

Romeo & Juliet
Thu, February 11, 2021 at 6:45pm
Doors open at 6:15pm
No seating after 6:45pm

Brahms: String Sextet No. 2

Gimeno + The Rite of Spring
Wed, April 7, 2021 at 6:45pm
Doors open at 6:15pm
No seating after 6:45pm

Stravinsky: Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet
Stravinsky: Pour Pablo Picasso for Solo Clarinet
Stravinsky: Lied ohne Name for Two Bassoons
Stravinsky: Octet for Wind Instruments

Moussa Conducts Moussa & Dvořák
Sat, April 24, 2021 at 6:45pm
Doors open at 6:15pm
No seating after 6:45pm

Samy Moussa: Frammenti dolorosi et amorosi: Eight Songs for Voice and Piano (Text: Michelangelo)
Dvořák: Terzetto for Two Violins and Viola

Sir Andrew + Symphonie Fantastique
Sun, June 20, 2021 at 1:45pm
Doors open at 1:15pm
No seating after 1:45pm

Martinů: La revue de cuisine

Give to the TSO

All gifts to the TSO's Annual Fund received by June 30, 2020, will be matched dollar for dollar up to $100,000 by the Barrett Family Foundation.

Donate Today

Subscriptions

Subscribers get the best seats at the best prices, plus an array of exciting perks! Gustavo Gimeno's first season as TSO Music Director is on sale now.

Subscribe Today

Email Club

Get insider access to Toronto Symphony Orchestra news, ticket offers, community programs, and more.

Sign up for Email Club
Live Chat Button